top of page

Be Thankful, Grateful, and Appreciate

The season of Thanksgiving is viewed as a time of year where people take the time to appreciate the good in their life. It should also be a time that people reflect upon the history of our great country and understand how blessed America is as it compares to other countries. Being thankful is an action that many people exhibit, but I am not sure they understand the true and deeper meaning of what they are expressing.

We use thankful, grateful, and appreciate interchangeably. These words certainly have similar meanings, but they also have some differences. Lets break this down so you will have some food for thought over the Thanksgiving weekend.

Being thankful, is a feeling that is expressed. Unfortunately, it may be out of habit. We teach children to say "thank you" because it is "good manners". Do parents truly teach their children what thankful means? We say thank you at the drive through window out of habit. Are you truly thankful for the food you are about to eat ? Or are you thankful for the convenience ?

In a random poll, I once asked one simple question to a group of adults. The adults' ages ranged from twenty-two through forty-nine. This was a group of people who had experienced many major life events and they were in the process of getting their life back on track. Every person in the group was thankful for his or her freedom, employment, and support received from family members.

I asked the same question to a group of adults at a social event. Age range was approximately the same. The adults in this group were thankful for their iphones, sports teams, and children. WOW! What a difference in perspectives.

Being grateful is an action. We show gratitude for the good things in our lives. This is how we reinforce the good in hopes that it continues. Gratitude can be an act of love as well. For example, I am grateful to have the people I love in my life. I am not simply thankful, because my perception goes much deeper than a habit, good manners, or convenience. I am grateful to the core of my being.

More importantly are you grateful for the times, events, acts of violence, etc that have not occurred in your life. Do you realize that every time you walk down the street you could be the victim of a random crime. I am extremely grateful for all of the bad that has not occurred in my life. I am grateful for every time my car almost spun out of control but it did not. I am grateful for all of the drivers who are under the influence on our roads that did not hit me when they passed by me. I am grateful for all of the sickness and disease that I did not suffer. I am grateful for the many guardian angels in my life who protected me even when I did not know I needed protection. And especially for the guardian angels who protected my children and grandchildren when we were not aware they needed protection. Grateful is a much deeper experience than thankful. And remembering that we should be grateful for things that have not occurred is just as important as showing gratitude for the good in our life.

Appreciation is also an act or gesture that expresses a mindset. It also can be interpreted as a gesture of love. If you are not showing appreciation for the people in your life, it is possible they feel rejected, unwanted, or even used. Expressing appreciation will encourage a person to continue being the person you need in your life. It will increase connection and understanding.

So, keep it up. Be thankful for the good in your life. Be grateful for the bad that is not in your life. And appreciate those who support and mentor you when you are in need.


Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page