top of page

Excerpt from "Daily Dose of Meds: Thirty Days to Increased Life Satisfaction"


Life Satisfaction. Just saying the words evokes joy, happiness, and often a sense of peace. Life Satisfaction is the ultimate life goal that everyone hopes to achieve. When I am teaching workshops or talking to people in my office about Life Satisfaction, their eyebrows raise just slightly. As I continue to express that Life Satisfaction is actually quite easily achieved, I typically see each person begin to grin just enough to indicate they want it. I believe they can feel it, taste, and see it in their own minds. Of course this lasts just a few minutes, and then people begin to doubt that they can achieve Life Satisfaction. When this occurs, it is one of the saddest moments I experience. It breaks my heart to watch people who are so close to increasing their Life Satisfaction give up and settle.

Life Satisfaction is a coveted treasure for many of us and very few people have actually achieved Life Satisfaction to the fullest extent. Most people are content with their lives, but yet I have people come to my office week after week and state that although their lives are great, their relationships are rewarding, and their careers are successful, they are still miserable. Life Satisfaction is not something that can be accomplished externally. Life Satisfaction is something that comes from internal balance. Internal balance is a phenomenon that is priceless. Internal balance gives us happiness even when life is not going so great. Internal balance assists with coping when negative life events occur. Internal balance was designed by God to help us get through this life. Internal balance comes from the Holy Spirit. Internal balance also comes from our self care, compassion, forgiveness, physical health, relationships, and even simply having fun in life.

Balance is a concept found in many philosophies. Most religions identify spiritual balance through the resistance of evil or sin. Christianity would define balance by ensuring that time is allotted each day for prayer, reading scripture, and attempting a sin free life to the best of our ability. The bible speaks of balance in various scriptures. Most of this balance is for the evolution of something good. For example, winter and summer balance each-other. They work together to bring crops, fuel the circle of life in the animal world, and even to balance our recreational activities. God's timing for us is perfect so that his plan for our lives can be fulfilled. And obviously, if we are in his plan, then all things will work together for our good. We not be able to see it at first, but God is always working for our good.

My goal for writing this book is to help people find balance in their lives, which will then increase their Life Satisfaction. Christianity is a large part of my personal balance. However, I understand that many people would disagree with me. I am not a religious scholar who is writing to enlighten people on God's word, I am simply one of God's servants doing what I believe is a good thing in this world. You have to decide what your spiritual balance may be and you are responsible for that choice. Only you will be held responsible for that choice. My job here is to get you to think outside of the box. My job is to get you to change bad habits. My job here is to challenge your thinking in many ways and not just spiritually. Spirituality is just one piece of the puzzle that we will be putting together through out this 30 day walk.

Daily Dose of Meds: Thirty Days to Increased Life Satisfaction is now available through our website at tranquilitycounselingserv.com as well as through Amazon.


Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page