top of page

Just For a Moment

Thoughts from the weekend. While spending time in Piedmont Park, trying to sketch a new art piece, I began to watch the crowds around me. I found it interesting to watch their body language. I found it interesting to observe how the multi-cultural crowd interacted. I sat for a long time and just watched.

In the time I was there, I did not observe prejudice or discriminatory gestures. That is right! You read correctly! Not one! All people walked along within the crowds and not away from the crowds. They focused on their in-group conversations, and they politely shared the trails with each other. A few people stopped to acknowledge my art, and a couple of people stopped and offered to pose for my sketch. It was extremely refreshing to witness such strong positive regard displayed for others.

I reflected for a few minutes on how the media, misunderstandings in communication, and bias influences have shaped the mindset of communities. I reflected upon the negative in our world. However, on this sunny afternoon, people were happy and respectful. People were affirming. And people, displayed acceptance. The opposite of what much of the media would like for us to believe.

Could I read their minds? Of course not! But, body language indicated that everyone was enjoying their afternoon just as I. Body language indicated acceptance and not rejection. Body language indicated basic social skills. Body language indicated that everyone, regardless of their culture, shared the same need for human connection.

As an artist, I would have loved to paint what I saw. It would be priceless to create a visual expression of unity, acceptance, and respect. As a therapist, I recognize that bias, misunderstandings, faulty assumptions, and confusion are the primary strongholds that divides people. I recognize that fear fuels much of this, but I also know that most fear is irrational. I also understand that true unity and acceptance is a subjective concept that truly does not exist. Although, what I witnessed was only for a short moment in time, it refueled hope in me. It refueled a hope that this scene will repeat often regardless of the negative in this world.


Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page